strivetoengage

Living with intent, social engagement, learning, growing, giving

Memories from my childhood – Moving in and setting up

After the earth-moving equipment had prepared a patch of flat ground and an access track it was time to move to our new home. We packed up our things and attached our caravan to the car and moved to our new home. We parked the caravan in the middle of the site and settled in. My brother and I now lived in the caravan itself again instead of the canvass awning.

I can remember one summer morning in 1982 dressing for the first time in my school dress and posing with my brother in the sunshine, ready for my first day of school, filled with anticipation and trepidation. I have one other distinct memory from this time when we were still living in the caravan on our ‘farm’. There was a cupboard with an almost horizontal lid that had a mirror on the inside of the lid. I lifted up the heavy lid on its hinges and looked at my reflection but then did not pay attention when I lowered the lid. My finger was still inside and the lid banged down onto my finger. Ouch, it really hurt. That was my first black fingernail. From then on I was very careful with doors! One of the

The work ahead seemed never ending but my parents somehow juggled full-time work in the city with two school-age children and myriad tasks of setting up a drinking water supply, a general-purpose water supply, getting a shed built for us to live in, a dunny (outdoor toilet), electricity supply, and more.

3 comments on “Memories from my childhood – Moving in and setting up

  1. Pingback: Memories from my childhood – Installing a water supply | strivetoengage

  2. Pingback: Memories from my childhood – Land Rover  | strivetoengage

  3. Pingback: Memories from my childhood – My first bike | strivetoengage

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2017 by in Me and tagged , , , , , .
