strivetoengage

Living with intent, social engagement, learning, growing, giving

Street art in northwest old town of Valencia, Spain 

We are in Valencia, Spain for the Easter school holidays ( påskeferie ) and I am a fan of public art. We bought tickets online for the Valencia v Sevilla football match and the pdf has to be printed to be used at the stadium gates. After a relaxing afternoon at the beach, with a suggestion for one place that could do the printing and with 1€ in my pocket, I set off on Thursday (public holiday) to print them. Tourist information sent me to a kiosk who sent me to fnac who sent me to another kiosk who couldn’t print. I was glad that my husband had taken our kids home for showers and dinner. I set off for the place that our apartment manager recommended that’s west of the Mercado Central. I thoroughly realised how walkable Valencia is. Even lane ways have foot paths, nobody is loitering menacingly and there are people walking around everywhere all the time, so it feels safe. I found that Sumo print shop was closed and asked at a Pakistani grocery store where I could print. He sent me to a locutorio and that was when I found these amazing street art and took some photos on my phone while keeping my mind mostly on my mission (and a strong urge to get home to use the toilet after hours at the beach with no toilets). To my immense relief the friendly Pakistani man that runs the locutorio printed our tickets after I forwarded the pdf to him from my phone and for only 20c each so I was able to afford the printing too without going home first to get money. We chatted about football but his passion is cricket. After 10 minutes of chatting and repeated attempts by an insistent client to talk to the clerk, I said goodbye and walked home triumphantly and clicking photos of some huge murals along the way. 

This is my favourite

Ninja? Moped rider?

Sinister!

This one makes me nostalgic for Asia

Nice concept to use a collage of interesting small stencils in a large stencil

The colour of money



And so this is how the ninja keeps fit


This one is nice


When the street art is on roller doors, I wonder if it’s commissioned?


This piece with 2 snails pulling a horse is huge and amazing


A mummy?


Really good work to create energy and movement in this piece


Quirky. Reminds me of the Trabi museum that we visited in Berlin


This giant with a beard full of worms must be inspired by Roald Dahl 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2017 by in family, Travel and tagged , , , , , , .
