strivetoengage

Living with intent, social engagement, learning, growing, giving

Street art in Catania, Sicily 

 

14674022894349.jpg

This beautiful street art of a flying fox is my favourite that I saw in Catania. It’s in an alcove next to the Fera ‘o Luni markets

We spent one week wandering around Catania on foot. We saw a diverse array of street and public art. I’ve included here photos of some of my favourites and some that simply were eye-catching or typical. Of course the most famous street art in Catania are the enormous murals on the silos at the port. I wasn’t able to take good photos of those so instead I’ve captured some that receive less attention and shared them here.

14674020628120.jpg

I know that this looks like I’ve rotated the photo but this stunning street art is aligned like this. I found it in an alleyway near the Spanish castle in Catania

I’m not sure if this wonderful street art is a paste up or stencil but I love it! It is also near the Spanish castle in Catania

There are several of these cat stencils around Catania. This one, near Teatro Bellini, is my favourite because the artist applied the stencil twice with different colours, it’s at ground level and it happened to have a pool of urine under it

14674018394130.jpg

This street art puzzled me and caught my attention in le Ciminiere district. I several versions of it scattered around the neighbourhood with different colours

14669685674496.jpg

This wonderful use of a natural rock formation to create street art drew us into a seedy series of alleyways and past various types of unappealing prostitutes

14669685477515.jpg

Does this count as street art? Poor old Priapus was cursed to have a permanent, oversized erection. In this painting in a seedy brothel alleyway he has a swordfish for a penis

14669684274258.jpg

These tags are at the harbour in Catania

14669683934266.jpg

Cute public art in the port building, Catania

14669682590857.jpg

Santa Agata is not technically street art I suppose but enriching to the passerby

Le Ciminiere district

The future is unwritten stencil, le Ciminiere district

I wouldn’t like to encounter Tony and Anny!

What a wonderful idea to commission a mural on the shutter of a street stall rather than have it graffitied on

Nostalgia for the old times

One comment on “Street art in Catania, Sicily 

  1. Pingback: Hiking on Lipari island – Canneto to the southern cape, Quattrocchi, Pianoconte and back | strivetoengage

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2016 by in Europe and tagged , , .
