strivetoengage

Living with intent, social engagement, learning, growing, giving

Hiking to Estenstadhytta

image

Last weekend we had our first snow since our arrival. It was very beautiful. I spent minutes watching perfect snow flakes falling, drifting, floating gently towards the ground. The snow was perfectly dry, airy and lovely. We spent part of Sunday toboganning down the slope next to our home then throwing snow balls and building snow men. It was wonderful. Earlier this year we drove for more than 2 hours to reach snow and now we are living with it!

image

By Tuesday the snow had melted and refrozen as treacherous ice. We all slipped and fell until we learnt how to walk like penguins and Norwegians. I unashamedly walk slowly and with extreme caution after falling flat on my back. I grip anything in sight and plot my course to avoid the ice as much as possible. It’s totally dark apart from street lights when we are walking to and from work and school so the ice isn’t easy to see except for being reflective.

image

On Friday we hiked from home in Trondheim, up and over the hill, slipping and sliding on the ice, past the telecommunications tower to the Dragvoll campus of NTNU where my husband stopped for a coffee before we continued past Bekken and up the hill to Estenstadhytta which is the hut on the top of the mountain south of Trondheim.

image

image

We were a bit disappointed to find the hut closed but pushed on with hiking, driving from our minds the thought of sipping hot chocolate on a mountain top in winter and sheltering from the driving rain. We crossed the dam wall of Estenstadammen and were amazed to discover that the surface of the dam was frozen!

image

I tested the ice and it was so thick that I couldn’t break it. It rained constantly and we kept hiking.

image

I suspect that the joys of hiking through mud with horizontal rain are wearing a little thin for my husband and I hope that he can find a way to love it because our Friday hikes are a highlight of my week!

image

We walked around Lomtjønna, getting lost and backtracking but hiking and hiking and that’s the main thing.

image

We were fortunate that on the way back down the ice was thinner so we were able to walk without falling out wearing spikes.
image
Back at home I quickly washed off the hike, donned a lovely red dress and walked 2km to my work Christmas dinner (Julebord). I had assumed that most people would walk there because it’s closer to most colleagues than me but surprisingly I was the only one that didn’t drive, get a lift or a cab. It was a great night with a good meal, lots of laughs, good will and dancing. Life is good for us in Trondheim.
image

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2015 by in Nature and tagged , , , , , , .
