strivetoengage

Living with intent, social engagement, learning, growing, giving

Colourful Cordoba

I was delighted to discover this amazing doorway near my hotel in Cordoba

I was delighted to discover this amazing doorway near my hotel in Cordoba

When Patrice and I were planning our 4 day weekend in the south of Spain we agreed to hire a car and visit Sevilla and Granada. When we realised that we could also visit Cordoba we happily created a triangular route, starting in Sevilla, then Granada, then Cordoba before returning to Sevilla.

Can you feel that we are in the South of Spain?

Can you feel that we are in the South of Spain?

We booked rooms at a nice and affordable hotel as close to the old town as we could and with a swimming pool.

Cordoba is famous for its patios

Cordoba is famous for its patios

We arrived at about 2pm and it was nice and warm (about 35C) when we set off to explore the old town.

Amazing street art near our hotel

Amazing street art near our hotel

I was delighted to discover street art in our street, just a few blocks from our hotel.

Amazing street art

Amazing street art

I don’t know what was in this big courtyard but there were a few CCTV cameras surveying it and the walls had amazing street art.

Amazing street art near our hotel

Amazing street art near our hotel

On our first day in Sevilla, Patrice realised that I was stopping to take photos of doors. He was a little perplexed but he’s very good natured and soon started to point out doors to me and suggest that I take a photo. Our tastes in doors differ somewhat but I was flattered that he indulged my interest in doors. Since then I have tried to define what attracts me to some doors and not others and I can’t put my finger on it. My friend Emma was sad to hear that I’m moving to Norway but encouraged me to continue to post photos of doors, so Emma, I have included a few extra in this post, just for you!

This door is very charming

This door is very charming

Cordoba is very attractive in the old town with its winding alleyways and well tended façades. The outer areas of Cordoba are less attractive and even near the old town we wandered into a large plaza that was surrounded by low cost housing and was filled with the residents enjoying outdoor meals and drinks.

Charming Cordoba

Charming Cordoba

This one is for you Emma

This one is for you Emma

So pretty!

So pretty!

Our main objective for visiting Cordoba was to see the Mezquita and that will come in a new post soon!

If you peek in through the door you can see some lovely tiles on the wall inside.

If you peek in through the door you can see some lovely tiles on the wall inside.

One comment on “Colourful Cordoba

  1. Pingback: Mezquita de Cordoba | strivetoengage

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 25, 2015 by in Europe and tagged , , , , , , .
