strivetoengage

Living with intent, social engagement, learning, growing, giving

Spring in the Arabian Peninsula 2015 – Part One

Sunset skyline

Sunset skyline

Normally I spend a lot of time carefully crafting a narrative to accompany my photos. This time I have already written my most interesting vignettes from my recent 3 1/2 week trip to the Arabian peninsula so I am instead simply going to present my favourite photos in the hope that they, accompanied by their captions will be of interest to those who don’t travel to the Middle East as often as me, or perhaps even those who do.

Twilight

Twilight

Arabic coffee prepared by the wife of my staff member with delicious kunaffa stuffed with white cheese.

Arabic coffee prepared by the wife of my staff member with delicious kunaffa stuffed with white cheese.

Spring flower festival

Spring flower festival

The cheapest petrol that you'll ever find is right here with 60 litres for $9.60 (USD)!

The cheapest petrol that you’ll ever find is right here with 60 litres for $9.60 (USD)!

I took my colleague into Manama souk for his first time. We had a nice meal and then wandered aimlessly down the alleyways looking at spices and cheap Chinese merchandise. We were lured into this tiny alleyway where old men reclined sipping coffee. We were served tasty cups of coffee and offered a tin of skim evaporated milk with added canola oil but we declined

I took my colleague into Manama souk for his first time. We had a nice meal and then wandered aimlessly down the alleyways looking at spices and cheap Chinese merchandise. We were lured into this tiny alleyway where old men reclined sipping coffee. We were served tasty cups of coffee and offered a tin of skim evaporated milk with added canola oil but we declined

Typical shop in Manama souk. This was down the tiny alleyway where we had our coffees

Typical shop in Manama souk. This was down the tiny alleyway where we had our coffees

Can you think of a more salubrious lunch location than this place that I was taken for a business lunch while in Kuwait?

Can you think of a more salubrious lunch location than this place that I was taken for a business lunch while in Kuwait?

IMG-20150325-WA0000_blogRelated recent posts:

https://strivetoengage.wordpress.com/2015/02/28/back-to-the-middle-east/

https://strivetoengage.wordpress.com/2015/03/09/exploring-bahrain/

https://strivetoengage.wordpress.com/2015/03/14/dubai-coffee-museum/

https://strivetoengage.wordpress.com/2015/03/22/reflections-from-the-middle-east/

7 comments on “Spring in the Arabian Peninsula 2015 – Part One

  1. Pingback: Spring in the Arabian Peninsula 2015 – Part Two | strivetoengage

  2. Pingback: Spring in the Arabian Peninsula 2015 – Part Three | strivetoengage

  3. flahertylandscape
    April 7, 2015

    All the warts, too, in your photos…fair is fair. You have been all around the Gulf in a very short time. Kuwait, Bahrain, UAE–which do you prefer?

    Thanks again for the photos!

    • strivetoengage
      April 8, 2015

      Thanks! Hmm this is a tough question. Since 2013 I’ve visited the region about 10 times including Oman, KSA, Abu Dhabi as well but not Yemen or Shajah. My favorite is Oman but everywhere that I go I find plenty to enjoy. What about you?

      • flahertylandscape
        April 8, 2015

        Since the mid 1980s, I have worked and lived in countries in the Arabian Peninsula Gulf Region, say, 15-18 years. And like yourself, I have found unique interests each time and place. Above all, I have been intrigued by the strangeness of the sand desert, the Rub al Khali and its edges.

      • strivetoengage
        April 8, 2015

        Do you have any favorite writers that you like to read about their travels in the Empty Quarter?

      • flahertylandscape
        April 10, 2015

        Wilfred Thesiger

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2015 by in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , .
