strivetoengage

Living with intent, social engagement, learning, growing, giving

Bush walk – Mount Tennent via Bushfolds Flat

Image

Google Maps image with walking trail marked on it using My Tracks app

This week we returned to Mount Tennent in excellent health and fitness (although I had sizable bruises on my shin and knee from soccer the night before, I felt that neither should prevent me from a good solid hike).

Image

We had the most glorious weather of any of our bush walks so far this year. It started off chilly (about 6C) but reached about 18C in the early afternoon.

We followed the same route as two weeks before to Bushfolds Flat following the fire trails.

Image

It struck me as pretty magical that we could drive less than 1 hour from our home and walk into lovely forest among these majestic creatures

IMG_20140430_123234

Image

I couldn’t resist sharing this photo because it looks like the kangaroo on the left is having a conversation.

Last time we turned back when we reached the junction with the trail from the Namadgi National Park visitor centre (which we followed on our first time on Mount Tennent in February). This time we kept walking to the summit of Mount Tennent.

Junction between Mount Tennent summit trail and Australian Alps trail

Junction between Mount Tennent summit trail and Australian Alps trail

Image

Glorious view from the summit of Mount Tennent

We walked hard and fast and felt great. We flagged a little as we approached the summit then took a short break before descending directly down the fire trail. I fasted until 11am before I drank my breakfast smoothie. This kept me going until after 15:30 when I had a grain-free lunch at home. It was an excellent walk that we greatly enjoyed. I’m pretty keen to try a different mountain next time though!

Image

Output from My Tracks app

Image

Output from My Tracks app

3 comments on “Bush walk – Mount Tennent via Bushfolds Flat

  1. Pingback: An ambivert in an extroverted world | strivetoengage

  2. Pingback: Bush walk – Mount Tennent via Bushfolds Flat in the Spring | strivetoengage

  3. Pingback: Bush walk – Pinnacles, Mount Painter, Black Mountain, Bruce Ridge | strivetoengage

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2014 by in Nature and tagged , , , , , , .
