strivetoengage

Living with intent, social engagement, learning, growing, giving

Travels in Malaysia with children part 11 (Kuala Lumpur)

We started the day with delicious rotis from the vendor near our apartment (another grain exception for me), mine as parathas filled with eggs and our children’s as milo rotis. These are made fresh with a special wrist movement to thin the batter and are delicious and incredibly cheap, our breakfast was only MYR 15 for 5 rotis and 3 boiled eggs and 4 glasses of water.

Egg paratha

Egg paratha

We used taxis when we first arrived for simplicity with children but yesterday evening we were quoted MYR 50 for the short ride to our apartment from Bukit Bintang so we learnt to master the light rail system. This morning we caught the LRT to the Central Market and browsed the handicraft markets. A middle aged Indian South African couple timidly asked me for directions in the LRT and were so obviously unable to navigate it themselves that I invited them to join us because we were travelling to the same station.

Artwork displayed in Pasar Seni Station

Artwork displayed in Pasar Seni Station

Artwork displayed in Pasar Seni Station

Artwork displayed in Pasar Seni Station

Artwork displayed in Pasar Seni Station

Artwork displayed in Pasar Seni Station

The Klang River passes by Pasar Seni Station but it is completely enclosed in a concrete channel so it’s difficult to see the beauty of the original river, especially because it’s water is polluted and full of rubbish.

Bridge over the Klang River

Bridge over the Klang River

River Klang

River Klang

The banks of the Klang River are covered with graffiti art/political messages and I wasn’t able to get close enough to take a decent photo on my phone but you can see some in the photos.

Graffiti on banks of Klang River near Pasar Seni Station

Graffiti on banks of Klang River near Pasar Seni Station

Entrance to Central Market

Entrance to Central Market

Inside Central Market

Inside Central Market

Most of the merchandise looks like it’s made in India or China but there are some stalls offering Malaysian things. There seemed to be big markups on the prices of everything inside the air conditioned markets but at least it had some good quality products for sale, unlike the flea markets on Petaling Street that just sell cheap Chinese stuff. Outside the Central Market are some street vendors with fresh fruit, Malaysian treats and more knick knack stuff.

Delicious Malaysian treats

Delicious Malaysian treats

Colorful pedestrian mall outside the Central Market

Colourful pedestrian mall outside the Central Market

We made our way between rainstorms to the city park which is a large oasis in the centre of KL. We had intended to use the wading pool but we’re chased away by security and realised that it’s closed during rain. Instead our children played at the massive playground and I watched the Malaysian mothers and fathers of young children and teenagers hanging out in the playground. As I listened to the Muezzin call the faithful to prayer I wondered what these people wearing outward signs of religiosity in their head ware felt by not heeding the call.

KL City Park

KL City Park

Wading pool in KL City Park

Wading pool in KL City Park

Huge playground in KL City Park

Huge playground in KL City Park

The park is next to the twin towers

The park is next to the twin towers

We finished the day with an excellent meal of tapas and South American food at La Boca Café in the ground floor of the Pavillion.

La Boca Café in the ground floor of the Pavillion

La Boca Café in the ground floor of the Pavillion

La Boca Café in the ground floor of the Pavillion

La Boca Café in the ground floor of the Pavillion

13888454371871

Pavillion shopping centre

After getting our children settled in bed I set off to use the excellent laundry facilities at our apartment. I dressed in my only clean clothes which are loose and reasonably unattractive travel shirt and trousers (my husband daily urges me to discard the shirt but I haven’t yet found a replacement), took a beer with me and waited for a free machine. I noticed a young Indian fellow sneaking glances at me and wondered if it was indiscreet of me to drink alcohol in public. He had some trouble with the token to operate the dryer so I helped him. Each time that I returned to move my washing from washer to dryer etc he was there. When I went to collect our washing he asked if I’m travelling alone and didn’t blink when I said I’m here with my children and husband. He went on to tell me that he lives in Myanmar but was from Mumbai and is travelling with 9 friends. He then handed me a beer that was obviously fresh from a fridge and said that he had bought it for me then asked me my room number. Fortunately his English was poor and I got away with only divulging my floor number. Soon afterwards his friend accompanied him away from the laundry and I timidly approached the lifts hoping they wouldn’t be anywhere nearby and thankfully they weren’t. So it seems that it was a random act of generosity on his part to buy me a beer.

Website with street art photos:

http://www.asiarooms.com/en/community/travel-photos/street-art-kuala-lumpur/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2014 by in Asia, family and tagged , , , , , , .
